Parish Council





The seven parish councillors are listed below. Any issues should be directed to the Clerk in the first instance.

Whissonsett Parish Councillors

Sally Dye (Chairman)

Oldsted Yard
Brisley Road
NR20 5DS

Bruce Andrews (Vice-Chair)

The Oak House
New Rd
NR20 5ST

James Daniels

Meadow House

Mill Lane

NR20 5SR

Caroline Edge

Cherry Tree Cottage
London Street
NR20 5ST

Charles Holloway

The Old Rectory

Rectory Road


NR20 5TF

Tristan Ireson

1 Church Farm

School Road


Debbie Pollard

End Terrace Cottage
London Street
NR20 5ST

Councillor's register of interests can be found on the

Breckland Council website.

The Role of a Councillor


A councillor is a member of the council and is normally elected for a term of four years.  People of any political or religious persuasion are eligible to become a councillor, although their personal views should not extend into their parish council work. A councillor is an unpaid voluntary role.

They are elected to represent the interests of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected councillors depends on the size of the area. In Whissonsett we are able to have seven councillors.


Local councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term ‘local council’ is synonymous with ‘parish council’, ‘town council’ and ‘community council’.

The Role of the Clerk


The Clerk is the ‘Proper Officer’ of the Council who is responsible for the smooth running of the Council’s business. They are the first point of contact for the Council and all correspondence comes to the Clerk.


Responsibility for implementing the decisions of the Council rests with the Clerk, along with giving professional guidance where necessary whilst remaining neutral and discrete. The Clerk is also responsible for financial management.


The Clerk prepares, circulates and displays agendas in public places. They sign notices and summonses with a list of business to be transacted but does not have the power to fix the meetings of the Council. The Clerk is required to attend meetings, take minutes, keep Council minutes in a book and hold other documents.